Hasta Luego Colombia…

9 05 2011

Here I sit. Medellin Airport. Awaiting my flight to Costa Rica.  And I can’t help but reminisce on some of the greatest things about this country that I am definitely going to miss.  In no particular order:

1. La 14: This store was my second home in Cali…. really I mean it was like an extension of our house as it was literally right across the street.  Honestly, one should not even call it a store. More of a wonderland really. It got its name because once upon a time in Cali there was a little market where one could by EVERYTHING and one of the cross streets was 14th street hence all the people would talk about going to “la 14”. Now it is a chain and can be found all over the city.  In the three immense stories I purchased enough children’s toys and books to house a playroom. I bought all my fruits and veggies. Art supplies.  There is a delicious bakery too… its possible I made a few too many trips there.  It’s basically the Target of Cali (and we all know how I feel about Target.)

2. Milk in a bag.  And it does not stop there. Juice in a bag. Drinkable yogurt in a bag.  Water in a bag.  Who needs bottles or boxes when in Colombia… there is something really gratifying about squeezing out the last few drops of the bag.

3. Drinkable yogurt. Everyone back home thinks that I am weird because I love love love to drink drinkable yogurt (yes I realize, slightly redundant… but I wanted the emphasis.) Here one is greeted with a multitude of flavors, sizes… even containers (see #2) to choose from when enjoying this delicious treat.

4. Mangos…. a mil a mil a mil….. mangos…. a mil pesitos. This is the sound you can hear booming from the street vendors selling delicious, ripe, ready to eat mangos.  And yes, I mean booming– they often have megaphones they holler into as they work their way up the street.

5. The fact that you see things like this almost everyday as you are driving along. 

PS. yes, that is a mannequin sticking its head out the window

Trucks stuffed to the brim with who knows what. Entire bedroom and dresser sets somehow rigged with ropes in the back of a very small taxi. 8-10 people in a two door coop. A family of 4 on a motorcycle (actually I don’t really like that… it totally scares the crap out of me and I think it is rather ridiculous they let this happen… but it illustrates the point I am trying to make). It is like that book “And to Think That I Saw it on Mulberry Street.” One never knows what you may come across.

6. Being the only tourist around. Golly-gee, tourists are annoying. And yes, I realize I am one of them. But until I see another one I don’t realize the degree to which I am… some days I would even say that I forget that I stand out like a sore thumb.

7. Fresh fruit juice.  The fact that you can make a full glass of fresh orange juice from two oranges.  And that you can get mango juice at 90% of the restaurants you go to (yes, i like mangos). yummy!! I am definitely going to miss this.

8 through 100 are the wonderful people who I have met and told you all about to date.  What an amazing few months it has been. To think about all the new friendships I have, how my world has truly been opened up to so many different people.  That is what life is about. 

I am sure there are many more, but that is all I have for now.

Actions

Information

One response

22 05 2011
Joshua O'Dell

The mannequin pictures is my favorite thing. Love that picture.

Leave a Reply

